join       |       officers       |       news

archives       |       PHYS       |       ACS

2014 Theoretical Chemistry Subdivision Graduate Student Awards

The Theory Subdivision annually sponsors two graduate-student awards intended to recognize outstanding research in theoretical and computational chemistry. The awards consist of a $250 prize and a generous allocation of time on the supercomputers at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications.

Stéphanie Valleau
Harvard University
Adviser: Prof. Alán Aspuru-Guzik
Project: "Can energy transfer principles be deduced from the study of natural photosynthetic structures?"

Rob Parrish
Georgia Tech
Adviser: Prof. C. David Sherrill
Project: "Direct Visualization of Large-Scale Noncovalent Interactions: Massively-Parallel Tensor Hypercontraction Atomic Symmetry Adapted Perturbation Theory"