join       |       officers       |       news

archives       |       PHYS       |       ACS

2015 Physical Chemistry Division Awards in Theoretical Chemistry

The Physical Chemistry Division annually sponsors senior and early-career awards in theoretical chemistry that are intended to recognize the most outstanding scientific achievements of members of the Division. The 2015 recipients will be honored in a special awards symposium on Tuesday afternoon of the Fall ACS National Meeting in Boston. In addition, the senior award winner will present a special lecture at the 2015 Telluride School on Theoretical Chemistry.

2015 Award in Theoretical Chemistry
Prof. Horia Metiu
The University of California, Santa Barbara
"for outstanding contributions to the development of the theory of surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy and plasmonics and the time-dependent quantum theory of molecular dissociation"

2015 Early-Career Award in Theoretical Chemistry
Prof. Thomas F. Miller
California Institute of Technology
"for his development of dynamics, electronic structure, and statistical mechanical methods to elucidate the reactivity of biological and inorganic catalysts"

The window for nominations for the 2015 Division awards will open following the Fall National meeting in September 2014 and will be remain open until early November. Details regarding eligibility and nominations will be available in the coming months.