join       |       officers       |       news

archives       |       PHYS       |       ACS

2014 Physical Chemistry Division Awards in Theoretical Chemistry

The Physical Chemistry Division annually sponsors senior and early-career awards in theoretical chemistry that are intended to recognize the most outstanding scientific achievements of members of the Division. The 2014 recipients will be honored in a special awards symposium on Tuesday afternoon of the Fall ACS National Meeting in San Francisco. In addition, the senior award winner will present a special lecture at the 2015 Telluride School on Theoretical Chemistry.

2014 Award in Theoretical Chemistry
Prof. Douglas J. Tobias
The University of California, Irvine
"for theoretical studies that have revealed new and unexpected aspects of ions at interfaces and membrane-bound proteins, and their impacts on atmospheric and biological systems"

2014 Early-Career Award in Theoretical Chemistry
Prof. Filipp U. Furche
The University of California, Irvine
"for the development of electronic structure methods and efficient computer programs enabling predictive simulations of small-gap compounds and electronically excited states"

The window for nominations for the 2015 Division awards will open following the Fall National meeting in September 2014 and will be remain open until early November. Details regarding eligibility and nominations will be available in the coming months.